Page 2 of 2

Re: Chill Spell

PostPosted: Friday December 7th, 2018 11:27am
by wallydubbs
In some quest packs (can't remember which one right now), there are specifications of some monsters being able to attack diagonally in the quest notes.
Also, if I'm recalling correctly, in the component section of the Elf Quest pack, I believe it says the Giant Wolf is able to attack diagonally.

Re: Chill Spell

PostPosted: Tuesday June 25th, 2019 9:28pm
by Kurgan
So the purpose of this spell is finally revealed... so the Frozen Horror can show just "how evil" he is, by using it to off one of his own men at the beginning of the fight!*

* (by this time half your party is immune to it anyway, if you played your cards right)

Re: Chill Spell

PostPosted: Saturday November 27th, 2021 10:14am
by Daedalus
wallydubbs wrote:The fact that they specify "Diagnolly Adjacent" implies that diagnol is a form of adjacent. Crossbows are thus restricted from attacking an adjacent target.

While the term "diagonal(ly adjacent)" was introduced by knightkrawler in this thread to make a point, diagonally adjacent isn't found in published rules. Diagonally and adjacent can be found in the NA Instruction Booklet and the Armory, but seperately.

Just found "diagonally adjacent" in the Chill spell, so I see what you mean. Still, I wouldn't retcon that to the Crossbow as the Game System rules keep them discreetly seperate. "Diagonally adjacent" is a rules exception that should apply to the card only.

wallydubbs wrote:In some quest packs (can't remember which one right now), there are specifications of some monsters being able to attack diagonally in the quest notes.
Also, if I'm recalling correctly, in the component section of the Elf Quest pack, I believe it says the Giant Wolf is able to attack diagonally.

Yes, being a large monster, a Giant Wolf may attack diagonally. You'd think the Frozen Horror, another large monster, could cast a Chill spell diagonally for the same reason, but the wording of the spell prevents it.

Re: Chill Spell

PostPosted: Sunday November 28th, 2021 1:17am
by Daedalus
Maurice76 wrote:Taking a small step back, it's pretty clear that when they designed the rule with regards to adjacency, they actually meant to talk about other creatures within melee range. For a spell touch attack (such as Chill), that means the target has to be within short melee range, i.e. in any of the four tiles surrounding the tile the caster is on, which share a common border.

Firing a Bow or Crossbow is pretty hard while you're being slapped silly by the melee weapon of an opponent. This means the four tiles in short melee range and I would rule that this also includes the four diagonally adjacent tiles (what I would call the long melee range), provided any of those creatures there has the ability to make a long melee attack. You could say that skeletons have a long melee attack with their scythes, but orcs with their swords don't. So yes, according to me you can fire your crossbow at any target, as long as no enemy is capable of plummeting you with its weapon in melee combat.

I like your take on melee adjacency! It provides tactical differentiation between the Longsword and Crossbow that makes sense. This is even kind of backed up in the NA rules:

the Instruction Booklet, p.15 wrote:. . . daggers and crossbows are special weapons due to their ability to hit a monster from a distance.

What is "from a distance?" I think beyond an opponent's melee range is as good definition as any.