Page 1 of 2

Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday December 20th, 2018 1:59pm
by wallydubbs
I can assume in the US version if a Hero falls into a Pit of Darkness trap while wearing Borin's Armor he'll need to roll 3 combat dice to determine damage taken.
However in the European version there is no specification as to what type of armor Borin's Armor is...

So if a hero wearing Borin's Armor falls into a Pit of Darkness, would you consider it Plate Mail and roll 3 combat dice; chainmail and 2 combat dice; or neither and just roll 1?

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday December 20th, 2018 2:32pm
by lestodante
I don't consider it like a plate mail: it is a special (magic?) Armour, so it gives no malus to its wearer.

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday December 20th, 2018 2:59pm
by Thor-in
I would still consider it to be like the US version of the armor. Even though it doesn't specify what kind of armor it is.
There is a thread about the armor here and what kind of armor it should be considered.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=332

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday January 17th, 2019 2:14pm
by wallydubbs
Since the Pit of Darkness is supposed to be so much deeper, can an enemy attack a hero while in it?

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday January 17th, 2019 2:26pm
by Thor-in
wallydubbs wrote:Since the Pit of Darkness is supposed to be so much deeper, can an enemy attack a hero while in it?


I would have to say no, the hero falls 30 feet down. That's a pretty long weapon the enemy has, and with the name of the tile Pit of Darkness, I doubt the enemy would be able to see the hero either.

I took this right from the rule book that drathe re-mastered

Capture.PNG


viewtopic.php?f=159&t=279

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday January 17th, 2019 7:25pm
by lestodante
Well, I don't remember if that was Phoenix addiction, but it clearly mentioned Borin's Armour also.
I understand the matter about weight but theorically shouldn't an armour also partially protect my back while hitting the floor very hard?

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday January 17th, 2019 7:57pm
by j_dean80
lestodante wrote:Well, I don't remember if that was Phoenix addiction, but it clearly mentioned Borin's Armour also.
I understand the matter about weight but theorically shouldn't an armour also partially protect my back while hitting the floor very hard?


Borin's Armor is mentioned in the original.

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Thursday January 17th, 2019 10:31pm
by Thor-in
lestodante wrote:Well, I don't remember if that was Phoenix addiction, but it clearly mentioned Borin's Armour also.
I understand the matter about weight but theorically shouldn't an armour also partially protect my back while hitting the floor very hard?


Yes you would think because it is magical armor.

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Friday January 18th, 2019 2:41am
by mitchiemasha
It's not so much the protection but the extra kinetic force you hit the floor with. Bulky armour is extremely dense, when the floor breaks your inertia, things are going to be much worse. Why mice fall from height with no damage. There's a greater risk of lacerating internal organs and if you land wrong, bones are more likely to snap.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7KSfjv4Oq0

Part 2 is quite funny too

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUWUHf-rzks

Nothing to do with armour but it's worth a watch.

Re: Pit of Darkness with Borin's Armor

PostPosted: Friday January 18th, 2019 2:44am
by mitchiemasha
wallydubbs wrote:I can assume in the US version if a Hero falls into a Pit of Darkness trap while wearing Borin's Armor he'll need to roll 3 combat dice to determine damage taken.


As it's perks are related to the 'lightness' of it, I'd say no.