• Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Noob here, be gentle.

Inn Visitors may sign the Guest Book and Registered Guests may introduce themselves. (Visitors are able to sign the Guest Book)

Noob here, be gentle.

Postby MrBigB » November 7th, 2013, 4:49 am

Hello from the great north-west USA!

I've been a huge fan of HeroQuest since I got the game for Christmas back in 1990. My friends and I spent countless nights crawling through the Zargon's dungeons, though looking back we really had no idea what we were doing as none of us had the patience to actually read the entire instruction manual. After a year or so I began to loose more and more pieces/figures (as 10 year olds tend to do) until sadly all but a small handdful of game pieces were left.

Never the less, HeroQuest has held a special place in my heart all these years. I was ecstatic when a good friend found his old set this past August and I got the DM for my group of buddies, who had never even heard of the game (yes we read the manual this time!).
We played for a ridiculous 10+ hours resulting in one of the most fun gaming days of my life. I immediately went online to buy copy of the game... but yeah, that was not happening :shock:

Since then, I've set out to make my own DIY copy of the game (figures, board, dice, et all) that I hope I can introduce my own kids to some day :D It's progressing nicely, albeit somewhat amateurish compared to what I've seen here. I'm excited to share what I have if folks are interested.

On that note I must say thank you to all the content creators/editors/uploaders here. I've been lurking around the site for months pilfering ideas, images, scans, ect. If not for your INCREDIBLE talent my project would have crashed and burned right out of the gate.

Thanks!
-Brandon